Jul 312013
 

recycleWe’re worried about you deleting your pictures unintentionally!  We think this is the biggest mistake you can make with your pictures.  We’ve seen grown men cry when they realize their pictures are gone.  Imagine learning that it was your fault!  If you haven’t already taken our quiz, and you’d like to test your own knowledge before reading this article, you can take our Picasa Quiz #1 here.

The majority of people who took our Picasa Quiz got the wrong answer when asked about deleting pictures.  Here’s the question:

image

If you take a look at the results, you’ll find that 57% of the respondents answered d. You’ve only deleted the Picasa copy, your original is still on your computer.  710 people have taken the quiz to date, that means 404 people (that we know of) are in danger of accidentally deleting their pictures because they believe that they are only deleting ‘Picasa’s copy.’ 

If you answered D, you’re wrong! 

Picasa does not have an extra copy of your pictures.  Picasa is not a container.   When you first installed Picasa, there was a message that we emphasize in our classes, “Scanning for pictures never moves or copies files to new locations.  You can choose which folders are displayed by Picasa using the Folder Manager tool (available from the Tools menu)”

Picasa is your faithful servant, doing whatever you ask to the pictures on your computer.  If you ask Picasa to delete a picture, it DELETES THAT PICTURE FROM YOUR COMPUTER.  Just as if you had seen the picture listed in Windows Explorer, or Macintosh Finder, and deleted it yourself. 

Everybody reading this, I want you to do something right now.  I want you to open Picasa, click on a picture and then press the Delete key on your computer.  You should see this warning message:

picasa-delete

If you now click on the ‘Delete Image’ button, your selected picture(s) will be deleted from your computer (so please press ‘Cancel’ this time!) ) If, at any time you have checked the box for ‘Don’t ask again …’ your pictures will be deleted immediately upon pressing the delete button. 

In case you don’t understand the ‘Recycle Bin’ concept, here’s an explanation: in both Windows and Macintosh, whenever an item is deleted from the computer, it is sent to the Recycle Bin (Windows) or Trash (Macintosh).  It stays there until such time as you empty your trash/recycle bin.  This is just a standard operation of your computer, it has nothing to do with Picasa.  In any case, the picture has been deleted from it’s location and you will not be able to see it using Picasa or My Pictures, or any other photo management program.  It’s gone.  Unless you manually open your trash/recycle bin and use the Restore command to get it back.

Where to Learn More …

 Geeks on Tour includes over 80 different Tutorial Videos just on Picasa.  We also have a discussion forum and we’ve added a topic which discusses this quiz.  If you view this topic, you will  learn which Videos teach the answers.  We’ve included notations for which videos require a membership and which are free for all to view.

  21 Responses to “The Biggest Mistake You Can Make with Your Pictures”

  1. I deleted my pics from picasa. Please help me get them back.

  2. How do I copy a picasa movie folder to my computer or pen dive ?

    • If you mean the Project folder called Movies, you can find it using Explorer (or Mac Finder) in Username\Pictures\Picasa\Movies Then use windows commands (or Mac Finder) to copy the folder wherever you like.

  3. Dear sir
    I have deleted my album from picasa trash bin. I need those photos back.
    Kindly request you to please help me as how to restore my photos back.

    • I don’t know of a “Picasa Trash Bin.” If you deleted them using Picasa – on your computer – then they are in your Recycle Bin and you can restore them from there. If you’re referring to Picasa Web Albums, online, I believe you need to use the Google+ interface to photos. Then, you’ll have an album called Trash. Deleted photos are held there for 60 days.

      • Sorry, quick question: I used Picasa for photos on my flashdrive. The photos I deleted using Picasa aren’t in the recycling bin. I deleted another file from the same flashdrive outside of Picasa as a little experiment and I see it in the recycling bin, but not the other photos. Is there any way of getting those photos back?

  4. My current copy of Picasa does not function
    I thought I could down load the new version, and when I do I get this mess
    .CblockFile::Restore err=2, albums_index.db

    If I uninstall Picasa, will I still be able to keep my photos?
    Will that include screen captures?

    I like Picasa and would like to re-install

    Please email me back as I’m not sure if I’ll be able to find this forum again . . .THX
    Email me at concretepete@live.com

  5. I keep getting the Do You Want To Delete to Recyle Bin, and I have NOT hit Delete, and then it will NOT go away. I have to restart. I will be happily adding photos to Facebook (it never did this before that feature) and suddenly it’s threatening me. What’s up?

  6. I keep getting the Do You Want To Delete to Recyle Bin, and I have NOT hit Delete, and then it will NOT go away. I have to restart. I will be happily adding photos to Facebook (it never did this before that feature) and suddenly it’s threatening me. What’s up?

  7. Good info
    Thanks

  8. I recently had to reinstall Windows 7 on my laptop. All my pictures are stored in Picasa. How can I now restore those folders/pictures to my disk? Does Picasa see that these folders no longer exist on my reinstalled Windows disk? Or will it delete all my pictures in Picasa because they no longer exist on my computer?

    Thanks,
    Joyce

  9. How do I turn on the Delete Items Box? I checked mine and it isn’t coming up. Thanks

  10. Great tip, and one I learned the hard way…
    NOW I am a happy member of the GEEKS ON TOUR technical tips,
    So I wont have to learn things the hard way any more :-)

  11. Chris…
    Lots of info/publicity about Google’s new $ 35 com cast item….
    Any chance the “cast” capability will be added by Google to Picasa?
    Thank you and thanks for your pubs!
    Dave

    • Hey Dave, thanks for the kind words!
      I beleive that’s the Chrome Cast, you’re talking about. It does sound way cool. What I read applies only to video and audio right now – not just viewing static content like photos. But, yes … I would expect something like that in the future.

      • Anything that you view in the Chrome browser can be “cast” if on the same WiFi network. I’ve not tried it yet, but that’s what I’ve been told.

        I am a happy Chromecast owner!

  12. Sometimes old pictures get distorted in Picasa. If you delete them, then restore them from Recycle Bin, the picture is restored and the distortion is gone.

  13. On a Mac it says “delete from disk” and it does, no second chance. However the working says “Delete from Disk” which is pretty straight forward.

 Leave a Reply

(required)

(required)

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>